by john southworth



NIAGARA LP & CD temporarily out of stock at this page. NIAGARA LP/CD/digital can also be purchased online at the Tin Angel Records store: or iTunes, Amazon or your local record shop

"#1 Album of the Year 2014" - Rolling Stone Germany

"Sprawling, gorgeous, wan, strange, tilted, curious and buoyant are words that describe Niagara by John Southworth, but this record is what it is — the best, or certainly one of the best, of 2014" - The National Post

“Although this is his 9th album it’s his first in the UK, and what a way to begin. A remarkable ‘debut’" - MOJO

“Bathe in the sparse beauty" - UNCUT

“The music is something you simply have to experience" - Stereogum

“Niagara acts as a revelation… the highest art" - 4.5/5 - Rolling Stone Germany

“It’s a gorgeous sound, but there’s an unreal tinge to it… manages to feel familar and comforting and vivid and strange, all at once" - Pitchfork

“It’s dreamy eccentricity; a little crazy and courageous" - Exclaim

“Curiously old-fashioned feeling without seeming overly reminiscent of any particular era" 4 NNNN’s - NOW Magazine

“You can hear the care, the thought, and the savoir-faire put into every song, Southworth is a true craftsman" 4.5/5 - Westender

“It’s a thing of rare and wondrous musical depth and exquisite discernment…full of intoxicating beauty" - The Afterword

“A triumph of both style and substance… disarmingly subtle yet flush with enough confectionary touches and left-field presence (not to mention pure craftsmanship) to warrant cult status among smart-pop aficionados" - 4.5/5 All Music Guide

“Both sides are stuffed full of songwriting gems, the music wonderfully arranged" - No Depression

“Southworth’s most inspired to date" - Pittsburgh In Tuneto


Canadian side

1. Niagara Falls is not Niagara Falls
2. Fiddler crossed the border
3. The horse that swam across the sea
4. Ode to the morning sky
5. Folk art cathedral
6. Butterfly shadow
7. Women are disappearing
8. Irish tree alphabet
9. Where the mountain makes the clouds

American side

1. Hey I got news for you
2. Weird woman
3. If it doesn't please the gods
4. Pretty angel girl
5. Poor boy from Buffalo
6. Womb of time
7. Halloween election
8. A day in the forest
9. She is my Niagara Falls
10. Help yourself to diamonds
11. Loving you


released September 30, 2014

Performed by The South Seas:

Andrew Downing / acoustic bass
Thom Gill / guitar, wurlitzer, organ
Craig Harley / piano, wurlitzer, rhodes
Justin Haynes / guitar, rhodes
Jean Martin / drums
John Southworth / voice, guitar, piano, organ, wurlitzer

Michael Davidson / vibraphone
Ryan Driver / synth
Rebecca Hennessy / trumpet, trombone, accordion
Adam Kinner / tenor saxophone
Peter Lutek / baritone saxophone
Felicity Williams / voice

Produced by Jean Martin & John Southworth

Recorded by Jeremy Darby & Jean Martin
at Canterbury Music Company
& The Farm, Toronto, Canada
Mixed & mastered by Jean Martin

All songs written by John Southworth
© 2014 SOCAN



all rights reserved